Grateful American Book Prize

Call to Action to State Humanities and Jurisdictional Councils

The Grateful American Book Prize is accepting submissions for 2021. The award is given annually to authors who have created outstanding works of historical fiction, or non-fiction, for seventh to ninth graders. Books published between August 1, 2020 through July 31, 2021 are eligible.

The winner will receive $13,000–in honor of the 13 original colonies–a lifetime pass to the New-York Historical Society, and a medallion created by artist Clarice Smith. Two “Honorable Mention” authors each receive the medal, and $500.

To make it easier for authors and publishers to submit entries, we’ve posted a new online submission form on our website. After it’s completed, click “submit”.

Users will also be prompted to print the completed form and send it along with seven copies of each book.

For more information contact:
John Grimaldi
The Grateful American Book Prize

Partners & Supporters